TSST – Teacher Subject Specialism Training

2018/19

TSST courses are focused on existing teachers, with the aim of building the capacity of non-specialists who may currently be teaching Mathematics or Physics, or may be able to move into a role teaching those subjects.

Cardinal Hume, in conjunction with St Thomas More (Blaydon), offer TSST Mathematics, Core Mathematics and Physics.  The courses run from October to June, and are made up of five face-to-face sessions, which include an opportunity to observe lessons, and online assessments which are provided by the University of Plymouth.

Physics

Lead school – Cardinal Hume Catholic School

Contact :  Carolyn Adams

Email: cas@cardinalhume.com

Tel: 0191 4877638

Mathematics and Core Mathematics

Lead school – St Thomas More Blaydon

Contact : Bobby McAdam

Email : bmcadam@stthomasmore.org.uk

Tel : 0191 4995018

Provisional Dates and Venues

Maths Core Maths Physics
Date/Time Venue Date/Time Venue Date/Time Venue
Information Evening Wed 17th Oct
4pm
STM Wed 17th Oct
4pm
STM Wed 17th Oct
4pm
CH
Session 1 Thurs 15th Nov
9am – 3pm
STM Mon 19th Nov
9am – 3pm
STM Wed 28th Nov
9am – 3pm
CH
Session 2 Tues 11th Dec
4pm – 7pm
STM Wed 12th Dec
4pm – 7pm
STM Wed 16th Jan
4pm – 7pm
CH
Session 3 Wed 6th Feb
1pm – 4pm
CH Thurs 7th Feb
1pm – 4pm
CH Thurs 14th Feb
1pm – 4pm
STM
Session 4 Wed 8th May
4pm – 7pm
CH Thurs 9th May
4pm – 7pm
CH Thurs 16th May
4pm – 7pm
STM
Session 5 Fri 21st June
1pm – 4pm
STM Wed 19th June
1pm – 4pm
STM Mon 24th June
1pm – 4pm
CH